autumn creations | floral dress.

Currently, I’ve been teaching myself how to create a dress. Mentally, it might seem easy (as I so thought), but in reality getting the measurements correct to make the dress fit and look symmetrical (AT THE SAME TIME) is not an easy feat for beginners. It’s been so much fun! I’ve researched online how people get their measurements and this and that, but honestly I haven’t found the perfect instructions anywhere. Especially when you want your dress to look one way and want to add your own touches to it. There is one thing I have found though and it’s that everyone does it their own way. So, I thought why not just make the dress how I would imagine it and fix and re-fix along the way. Right? Well, I’m happy to tell you it has been so much more fun making this dress in this way versus following step-by-step instructions. In my opinion, following instructions just takes the fun out of any creative project if you follow them for too long. You know what I mean? It’s like someone telling you how to be creative. Well, nobody can tell you. Creativity is an outcome of you. It can only come from you. Not to say guidance isn’t needed from time to time, but without coloring outside of the lines how else would you know what other creative ventures lay ahead? Enough rambling, I think I’ve gone on a whole new tangent, as per usual. Here’s my latest dress, it’s not finished yet, as I’m sure you can tell, but I still wanted to share it! And of course, I’ll share the end result when I approach it 🙂

IMG_2991 [794839]

No, the dress is not that dark. Just in case you were wondering why the picture is so dark, I darkened the picture a little bit because the sun was shining so much that the pattern just disappeared, and I want you all to be able to see it perfectly.  It’s just your basic box dress. I’ve been debating on whether I want to add sleeves. I want to because sleeves just scream Autumn, especially 3/4 length sleeves, but that’s a whole other adventure to tackle!

Here’s a closer look at the fabric in case the picture above still isn’t letting you see it that well (I darkened this as well, hehe).

IMG_2996 [928107]

See how these florals are Autumnal flowers and completely different from Spring flowers? And I decided to choose a gold thread for hemming because it just fits so beautifully with the overall feel of the dress.

Hope you guys like it so far! Let me know in the comments! Please share you creations as well, and if you have a blog I’d love to look around so don’t forget to link it when you comment! Thanks for reading friends! Until next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

