coconut oil.

Hello everyone! Hope everyone is having a lovely day:-). So we all always have those little things that we literally cannot live without. Whether if it’s a bit of makeup or food or you know just about anything. One of those little things for me is coconut oil. It’s a wondrous natural creation.

It has so many uses, the list can go on and on. What I mostly use it for include a hair mask, daily frizz control, a moisturizer, and a base for some of my essential oils (you’ll hear more about these in a later post, I’m obsessed with them to not dedicate a whole post for them).

photo 1

Make sure when you purchase your coconut oil it’s in its solid form (see picture below). Liquefies with heat, solidifies at room temperature or colder temperatures. I buy organic/virgin/extra virgin just because this way I know that it has gone through the least amount of processing. I know organic has a bit of a ‘expensive’ label attached to it, but I’ve only spent maybe $7-8 on my jar (Whole Foods), and it’ll last quite a long time since a little goes a long way.

photo (1)

___________________________________________________________________

Hair Mask:

Being Indian, I’ve been using natural hair masks my whole life. Granted they were a bit absent from my life during my adolescent years, you know when you find everything to be weird and uncool unless everyone you know is doing it also. My mom used to put coconut and almond oil in my hair all the time. I can’t even describe how full and soft my hair was back then. Then I had my experimenting years where I tried every hair product out there, but surely found my way back to these lovely oils.

So what I do the the hair mask is: I like to separate my hair by section and apply a bit of coconut oil on my scalp in that area. Making sure to massage in that hair while I bring the coconut oil down from my scalp to the tips of my hair. The scalp is the most important place to apply the coconut oil (in my opinion). You’ll want it everywhere, but make sure you put it on the scalp because that’s where you get new hair growth, so you can ensure the new strands that grow will already be eating up all the nutrients from the coconut oil. Besides when you get your hair cut it’s the bottom strands that go, so you always want the top most portions to be masked well. I then continue doing this to each section of my hair until I’m all done. Massaging the head is also very important because that will help stimulate hair growth also.

Once I’ve done this, I like to put my hair in a braid. Sometimes I chose to put it in a top knot, but usually the braid. Reason being is because I like to keep the oil in my hair overnight so I want to help the oils stay in my hair and not get all over the face. Also, I don’t want oily strands in my face.

Since I like to keep it in overnight to ensure my hair gets every bit of the coconut oil nutrients, I make sure I put a towel on my pillow so my covers don’t get oily either. You don’t have to do this, but it’s just a helpful suggestion.

The next morning, I wash my hair with shampoo and conditioner if you want to use it. I typically don’t use conditioner the day after a hair mask because the oil has already conditioned my hair. You may have to do a ‘later, rinse, repeat’ cycle with the shampoo in case you feel like you put in a lot of coconut oil.

Daily frizz control:

After I wash my hair, which I only do 3 times a week (I’m sure many of you know the less hair washings the better, don’t want to strip your hair of nutrients), I like to take just a dab of coconut oil and disperse it throughout my hair. The coconut oil doesn’t make your hair oily at all; and if you think it did, your hair will soak in the oil soon enough so you won’t even notice later. I have a lot of hair on my head, a lot. So the oil helps tame it, but also keeps the volume without making it look all flat by the end of the day. Trust me, I’ve tried many many hair products. None of them work as well as the coconut oil.

Moisturizer:

If my skin has been feeling particularly dry, I like to just lather it up with coconut oil. You can’t even imagine how soft your skin feels afterwards and even the next time. Something I’ve learned is that many lotions that we use are filled with water that make your skin feel nourished at first, but slowly will feel dry. Coconut oil, on the other hand, doesn’t do this. I’ve found it to moisturize for the long-run. The best part is, the oil does not have a fragrance. And if you use it after shaving your legs, oh my gosh. Your skin will love you forever.

In addition to moisturizing the skin, you can also apply it on your lips and your cuticles. I don’t really use it for my lips because I just can’t stop using Vaseline. Another amazing product. My friends have told me they don’t know how I use Vaseline on my lips because it’s so sticky. I don’t know, I think it moisturizes the lips perfectly.

Essential Oil Base:

I have a bit of an obsession with essential oils. They’re miracle workers, each with their own benefits. There are many essential oils; however, that are very potent. Therefore, you want to dilute them so their not as harsh on your skin. I’ve found coconut oil to work really well with some that I use, especially tea tree oil, which I use for acne spots. Just take a bit of the essential oil and mix it with a bit of the coconut oil. If you’re using it for spot treatment, you don’t need much of either. They’re oils, a little goes a long way.

___________________________________________________________________

There are so many uses for coconut oil, but these are just a few of the reasons that I use it.

And as always, you may want to test try it before you start using it continuously. We are all very different, and things that work for some may not work great for others. So it’s always good to steer on the safer side. I’ve also learned the hard way.

Hope you enjoyed this post and let me know if it made you want to try coconut oil or if you already use it please share your experience. I’d love to hear!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

