vegetarian fiesta.

Hello! Hope everyone had a lovely Monday. So I don’t think I’ve shared this, but I’m a vegetarian. When people ask me how I do it I say I’ve been one my whole life, from birth. My whole family is vegetarian. At first I was for religious beliefs only. However, now I continue to stay one for religious as well as moral reasons (and the added health benefit is a plus). I actually turned vegan once; however, I learned it’s much better to mix and match vegan and vegetarian rules to reach the best and most healthy lifestyle. For instance, if you’re a vegan you need to take supplements to ensure you get daily requirements such as probiotics. However, by being a vegetarian you can get your probiotics from eating yogurt (Greek yogurt is a great option, by the way). However, vegetarians are allowed to drink cow milk and I’ve discovered it contains many hormones that we should not be constantly ingesting; therefore, it’s better to drink almond or soy milk (at least I do). Therefore, by integrating the best of both of these into one diet, you can maintain a very healthy lifestyle naturally without excessive supplements. By all means, I am not giving out professional advice. This is just my opinion and how I choose to maintain my daily diet.

Enough chit chat. So my family and I love getting creative with many dishes. And that’s the key when you live a vegetarian or vegan lifestyle. You have to get creative with your meals, but once you get the hang of it it’s so easy. So let me take you through this Mexican dish:

1. We like to saute all our vegetables with a bit of olive oil, and for this dish we chose to add red peppers, onions, green peppers, and corn (pictures in this order). The great thing about this dish is you can literally mix and match as many different vegetables as you like, which makes it very versatile.

IMG_1150

IMG_1160

IMG_1162

IMG_1164

2. Next we had cooked brown rice. Brown rice is a much healthier option compared to white rice, but also you can switch up the brown rice for other grains as well. Such as quinoa!

IMG_1161

3. We don’t like using any canned or frozen products; therefore, we cook our beans from dry beans. For this recipe we chose black beans. If you have a slow cooker you can place the beans in water with a bit of salt and let it cook for about 5-6 hours. We like to put them in the pot in the morning so they’ll be ready by the time we’re cooking dinner.

IMG_1165

4. We then prepared the guacamole. We used one avocado and added salt, lemon/lime juice, red peppers, and garlic. I forgot to take a separate picture of just the guacamole, but you’ll be able to see in the next few pictures with the other ingredients.

5. Next all you need is to gather some condiments: cheese, salsa, chips and you’re good to go! You can also make these into soft tacos, burritos, hard shell tacos, or even eat as a salad. There are so many options, choose whatever you’re in the mood for. We decided to get some health blue chips and use them for dipping. If you are vegan and would like to try this recipe, opt for non-dairy cheese or if you don’t eat cheese at all you don’t have to add it. It’s not necessary at all.

IMG_1169

IMG_1168

IMG_1170

6. Pile all the ingredients together and you’ve got yourself a nice, healthy dinner. Enjoy!

IMG_1173

And if you know you’re going to have a busy week just put together this dish the weekend before and you’ll just have to warm it up throughout the week. And to make sure you don’t get tired of it throughout the week, cook one different vegetable every night to change up the look, taste, and feel of the meal. Be creative!

Can’t wait to hear your thoughts!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

